WSOP launches ‘First Fifty Honors’ Poll with Prizes to Celebrate 50th Anniversary

The year 2019 marks the 50th anniversary of the World Series of Poker (WSOP), and to celebrate this incredible milestone, they will be honoring players who have helped make the yearly poker festival the most prestigious and longest-running poker tournament that we all know today.

What are the best things you have seen or remember so far about the WSOP? Vote to win prizes!

The WSOP First Fifty Honors celebration is composed of 7 categories that everyone can vote on. By completing their survey, participants will be entered into a drawing to win a cool prize!

Awards you can Vote on

Residents in America and Canada can vote on the awards here

International fans can vote on the awards here.

All awards have the option that allows you to submit a write-in candidate.

Most Memorable WSOP TV Hand

  • Matt Affleck vs. Jonathan Duhamel – 2010 WSOP Main Event – Heartbroken
  • Sammy Farha vs. Chris Moneymaker – 2003 WSOP Main Event – Bluff of the Century?
  • Johnny Chan vs. Erik Seidel – 1988 WSOP Main Event Final Hand – Rounders Hand
  • Connor Drinan vs. Cary Katz – 2014 WSOP Big One for One Drop – Aces vs. Aces
  • Chris Moneymaker vs. Phil Ivey – 2003 WSOP Main Event – Full vs. Fuller House
  • Scotty Nguyen vs. Kevin McBride – 1998 WSOP Main Event Final Hand – It’s Going to be All over Baby

Best Overall WSOP Performance (Single Year)

  • George Danzer, 2014 — 3 bracelets, 5 final tables, 11 cashes, $960,424 winnings
  • Shaun Deeb, 2018 — 2 bracelets, 4 final tables, 20 cashes, $2,545,478 winnings
  • Phil Hellmuth, 1993 – 3 bracelets, 4 final tables, 4 cashes, $544,900 in winnings
  • Phil Ivey, 2002 – 3 bracelets, 7 final tables, 7 cashes, $415,200 winnings
  • Jeff Lisandro, 2009 – 3 bracelets, 4 final tables, 6 cashes, $807,521
  • Daniel Negreanu, 2013 – 2 bracelets, 4 final tables, 10 cashes, $2,214,304 winnings

Most Likely to Succeed (Most WSOP Gold Bracelets 2020-2070)

Player under 35 projected to have most success in next 50 years.

  • Justin Bonomo (33)
  • Joe Cada (31)
  • Shaun Deeb (33)
  • Fedor Holz (25)
  • Jason Mercier (32)
  • Dominik Nitsche (28)

Fan Favorite

  • Doyle Brunson
  • Antonio Esfandiari
  • Phil Hellmuth
  • Maria Ho
  • Phil Ivey
  • Daniel Negreanu

WSOP’s Favorite Bad Boy

  • Jamie Gold
  • Phil Hellmuth
  • Will Kassouf
  • Mike Matusow
  • Shawn Shiekhan
  • David “Devilfish” Ulliott

Most Impressive Main Event Win (Single Year)

  • Johnny Chan – 1988
  • Jamie Gold – 2006
  • Phil Hellmuth – 1989
  • Martin Jacobson – 2014
  • Chris Moneymaker – 2003
  • Jack Strauss – 1982
  • Stu Ungar – 1997

The 4 Most Important Players in WSOP History

  • Billy Baxter
  • Doyle Brunson
  • Johnny Chan
  • TJ Cloutier
  • Chris Ferguson
  • Ted Forrest
  • Phil Hellmuth
  • John Hennigan
  • Phil Ivey
  • Chris Moneymaker
  • Michael Mizrachi
  • Johnny Moss
  • Daniel Negreanu
  • Scotty Nguyen
  • Puggy Pearson
  • Amarillo Slim
  • Chip Reese
  • Erik Seidel
  • Vanessa Selbst
  • Stu Ungar

Prizes you can win

If you are from Canada or the United States, you are eligible to win one of four of the following prizes:

$1,000 Mini Main Event Seat – 2019 WSOP Event #69 

$500 Summer Saver Online Seat – 2019 WSOP Event #88 

(2) VIP tickets to the First Fifty Honors Gala (estimated value of $300)

WSOP merchandise (estimated value of $75)

Another honor shall be bestowed in the same evening – the “50 Greatest Poker Players” will be announced, courtesy of a panel of poker industry and media members. Stated in the WSOP’s press release, “The only criteria to determine the 50 Greatest Poker Players is they must have played at least once at the WSOP. This list can be made up of cash game players, mixed games players, online players or tournament players.”

WSOP Executive Director Ty Stewart said, “From its founding by the Binion family in 1970, no one could have foreseen what the modern-day World Series of Poker has become. It’s only fitting we take an evening out from poker playing to celebrate the great game of poker and all the characters who have made a mark on the WSOP over the past five decades.”

Voting is open until June 15th and winners shall be announced at their inaugural First Fifty Honors Gala on June 29th, Saturday, 8pm in the Brasilia Room at the Rio All-Suite Hotel & Casino.

Source link